Saturday, July 12, 2008


Introduction Breakthrough Science Society (BSS) is a science organization constituted in 1995 with the aim of building up “A New Science Movement” at the national level. Our motto is “science for Society, Science for Man and Science in Thinking”. Advisory Board The activities of Breakthrough Science Society are being guided and spearheaded by Luminaries, renowned scientists and personalities in the country. An advisory board is constituted in the national level to meet this purpose. Dr. Sushil Kumar Mukherjee a renowned scientist, educationist and former Vice -Chancellor of Calcutta University is the chairman of the advisory board. Dr.Dhrubajyothi Mukhopadadhyay (Professor,Rtd. Of Geology, University of Calcutta) is the President and Dr.Soumitro Bannerjee, (Prof.IIT, Kharagpur and Bhatnagar Award winner) is the General Secretary of BSS. Paul H Reitan (Professor of Geology, University of Buffalo. N.Y. USA), Jagat Jiban Ghosh (Retired Professor of Biochemistry, University of Calcutta), Samar Bagchi, (Former director, Birla Industrial & Technological Museum, Calcutta), Dr.Asoke Mukkerjee, Shantanu Ray, Biplav Roychoudhary, Asoke Chattopadhyay, Debasis Roy, Dr.Subhasis Maiti, Tarun Naskar are among the committee members. Breakthrough Science Society has activities in Tamilnadu, Maharashtra, Kerala, Delhi, Karnataka, Haryana, Andrapradesh, Chattisgarh, Gujarat, Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Andaman & Nicobar Islands and West Bengal etc. In every state there is the respective state chapter of BSS consisting of Scientists, teachers etc. who accept and stand for our desired goal.